Fireplace Screen

June challenge 20/6 is an ode to an antique fireplace screen that I was recently reminded of by my grandfather.

somewhere in a corner of a small library warm

is a panel made of glass squares, faded emerald and red.

that panel has seen sleepless nights, when I wished I was dead,

and likewise has seen Christmases safe inside from a storm.

that panel has seen poems, when I wrote to my dear girl.

that panel has seen comfort from my family, from work.

that panel has seen lazy days and thoughts out loud I’d shirk.

how many chats I wonder in its presence have unfurled…

that panel has a past life filled with memories for days.

an album of old photographs could not contain them all.

they say they’d pay good money to be a fly upon the wall,

but I would rather be a little square of green I’d say.

Leave a comment